If you are a frequent shopper at Walmart who pays by cash, have you ever wondered, “will Walmart cash a personal check?” Yet you don’t know if you can do that or not in this big retail shopping station.
Can You Cash A Personal Check At Walmart?
Absolutely Yes. This company has announced that it will begin cashing personal checks at its Money Center locations at the beginning of 2022.
Walmart provides a checking limit of $5,000 for one person. It costs $4 for checks lower than $1,000, $8 fee for checks ranging between $1,000 and $5,000.
The process is straightforward and can be done in as little as 10 minutes, so stop by your local store if you need some quick cash.
For Walmart shoppers, this is such great news. If you want to find out more about this new casing method at your favorite shopping mall, keep on reading!
What Kinds Of Checks Does Walmart Cash?
Walmart accepts checks from all banks and pre-printed ones as long as they follow its laws. So, the next time you go shopping at the center, remember to bring the check with you.
- Business checks
- Cashier’s checks
- Government checks
- Insurance settlement checks
- MoneyGram money orders bought at Walmart
- Out-of-state checks
- Payroll checks
- Pre-printed checks
- Tax refund checks
- Two-party personal checks
- 401(k) or retirement disbursement checks
In contrast, they do not accept handwritten and third-party checks.
Are There Any Limits To The Personal Checks Walmart Can Cash?
Walmart has financial restrictions on the number of checks it may cash. These vary by area. For instance, only a two-party check is restricted at $200, and business-issued ones must be no more than $5000.
If you need to cash a check over $7,500, it is best to call ahead so your local store can work with large amounts beforehand. If they accept your deal, then you can continue bringing the cash to your nearest Walmart.
How Much Does Walmart Charge To Cash A Check?
The charge for pre-printed non-personal checks is less than $4 for the first $1,000. After that, the cost for checks exceeding $1,000 ranges from $4 to $8 and doesn’t exceed $8. Walmart will charge a $3.74 fee for each card cashing transaction. This fee is in addition to any fee(s) charged by the issuer of the card & will be deducted from the value on the card
Max fee of $6 for two-party personal checks up to $200. Subject to applicable law.
They only deduct the charge from your check, so there’s no need to carry any extra money.
You may also like: Does Walmart Develop Disposable Cameras?
How To Cash A Check In Walmart?
So, what are the instructions on how to cash a check at Walmart?
You must provide the actual check as well as your passport or valid government-issued ID card.
One piece of information you should know is that Walmart stores in New York and New Jersey do not accept personal checks.
So, if you are in one of these two regions and want to have a cash check, take some time and drive to the nearest Walmart outside your region to cash your check.
Does Walmart Cash Handwritten Checks?
As mentioned above, they don’t. That is unlikely. They also refuse to accept a check that has been scratched out and written over with a pen or marked up.
You can opt to get your money in cash or load it onto a MoneyCard, which is $1 each and comes with the reload fee waived. The cards are available at the stores for check cashing facilities if you’re short on time!
Almost all stores only cash certain types of checks, so it’s important to know what you can and cannot use., including post-dated, expired, or more than 180 days old ones.
You can walk into any Walmart store and present your check to the customer service desk, who will then take it for processing.
Overall, it’s a great option if you don’t have a bank account or need quick cash. Enjoy Walmart cash personal checks features and we will see you soon in the next article!
Related Walmart Source: